About Dee Andrews

Dee Andrews 1918 influenza novel 1. I currently live in Boulder, Colorado.
2. I have also lived in Kansas, New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles, Spain, and Buenos Aires.
3. Hablo un poco espanol.
4. I have two daughters that make me smile every time they walk into the room.
5. My husband and I met on a blind date.
6. I blog about travel and life abroad at Travel and Travails. Check it out.
7. I grew up on a farm in Kansas.
8. Good food makes me happy. Friends and family sharing a meal make me the happiest.
9. I’m a voracious reader.
10. I worked in marketing and communications for 20+ years. My favorite client was The Children’s Reading Foundation.
11. I like to camp. The real deal, no glamping.
12. I love being a mom.
13. I don’t really like pets. Animals belong in the barn.
14. Drinking beer from a can with my best girlfriend on her porch in Wyoming is a great afternoon. So is wandering through an art museum or library, a cortado at a cafe, or a nap.
15. I don’t like to talk on the phone. It’s not personal.
16. I am a morning person. I love to be in bed at 9:00pm with a book.
17. At heart, I am messy. My house is clean and picked up, but my desk and closet reflect the real me.
18. I am on the board of The Community Foundation Boulder County. We believe our community is stronger when all people are respected, welcomed, and invited to share their contributions in community building. Join us.
19. I enjoy politics. Maybe someday I will run for public office.
20. I am blessed with a wonderful extended family that really likes each other and gets along well (though not always politically.)
21. Yoga and hiking make working out tolerable.
22. I am claustrophobic.
23. I’m an introvert. Don’t mistake that for shy, anti-social, ineffective, or unopinionated.
24. My chocolate cake won Grand Champion at the 4-H fair when I was ten. My mom baked it.
25. I work on my historical fiction novel about the 1918 influenza pandemic almost every day. It makes me happy, gives me purpose, and teaches me new things.